Bishop is new NAMIC Board Chair

Bishop is new NAMIC Board Chair

Bishop Sworn In as Board ChairmanJohn J. Bishop, CPCU, CLU, recently retired president of The Motorists Insurance Group, accepted the gavel as the 2013-2014 NAMIC chairman during the Annual Meeting of Members at NAMIC’s 118th Annual Convention on Sept. 25. Bishop has spent more than four decades in the property/casualty insurance industry, all 41 years at Motorists.

During the meeting, NAMIC presented several awards to individuals who have contributed their time and talent to the organization.

Former NAMIC Chairman John Bykowski, president/CEO of SECURA Insurance, received the Chairman’s Award. The award was created to recognize leadership, accomplishment, and outstanding service to NAMIC and the property/casualty insurance industry. Bykowski is an active member of the insurance industry, including member of the Merit Society, Convention Planning Committee, and formerly on the board of trustees of the NAMIC PAC. He is also deeply involved in his community, serving on the board of directors for the Fox Cities Building for the Arts and the Fox Cities Community Foundation.

Recipients of the NAMIC Service Award were Robert Forsythe, Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan, Cambridge, Ontario; Adrian Lund, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Arlington, Va., Christopher Shipe, Loudoun Mutual Insurance Company, Waterford, Va.; and Douglas Sullivan, Svea Mutual Insurance Company, Orion, Ill.

Chuck Chamness, NAMIC’s president and CEO, took the stage one last time to address delegates and guests. In his remarks, he drilled deeper on the state of the association and the strides in advocacy, education, and services it has made during the past year.

“We know that you choose to be a member, and we are grateful for your choice and your continued support. Each one of you is important to the success, now and in the future, of this association,” he said. “On behalf of the entire NAMIC team, thank you for being a part of this.”