Professional Farm Mutual Manager Designation (PFMM)


Congratulations to our 2019 PFMM Manager of the Year, MARK S. SPLINTER, CPCU, Are, PFMM, FMDC
President & CEO
Mutual of Wausau Insurance Corporation – Wausau, Wis.

The NAMIC Farm Mutual Conference board of directors created the Professional Farm Mutual Manager of the Year Award in 2002 to recognize the accomplishments of an outstanding farm mutual manager. The award recipient must be a PFMM designate and must perform at a high level in marketing, administrative, and financial management.

To nominate someone who has the PFMM designation, the nomination form (found at the top of this page) must be completed and submitted with any supporting documentation by June 15. In addition, letters of recommendation may be included from individuals such as company board president, reinsurance company representative and/or state association executive.

Nominees from the previous year will automatically be carried over for a one year period of time. NAMIC will contact the nominator to confirm consideration for a second year prior to the nominee being presented for consideration to the selection committee.

The selection committee will review all nominations and select each year's recipient of the award on the basis of exceptional achievements in both the short and the long term during the nominee's career. The award is presented at NAMIC's Annual Convention each year.

Completed nomination forms can be sent to, by fax at (317) 879-8408, or by mail to:

Attn: PFMM Manager of the Year
PO Box 68700
Indianapolis, IN 46268

Previous recipients of the Professional Farm Mutual Manager of the Year Award are:

  • 2002 | Bernita Shamel, PFMM - Secretary/Treasurer/Manager, Laclede Mutual Insurance Company in Lebanon, Mo.

  • 2003 | Beverly Fick, PFMM - Manager, Bradford Victor-Adams Mutual Insurance in Franklin Grove, Ill.

  • 2004 | Duane Smith, PFMM - Secretary/Manager, Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of Johnson and Shelby Counties in Franklin, Ind.

  • 2005 | Charles Smith, PFMM - General Manager, Billings Mutual Insurance Company in Billings, Mo.

  • 2006 | Priscilla Hughes, PFMM - Manager, Hope Mutual Insurance Company in Tyler, Minn.

  • 2007 | Arthur Meadows, PFMM – President/CEO, Pan Handle Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Moundsville, W.Va.

  • 2008 | Patrick Faga, PFMM – President/CEO, Central Iowa Mutual Insurance Association, Story City, Iowa

  • 2009 | Jerry Zenke, PFMM - General Manager/Treasurer, Mound Prairie Mutual Insurance Company, Houston, Minn.

  • 2010 | JoAnn Kuschel, PFMM - Secretary/Treasurer/Manager, Boeuf & Berger Mutual Insurance Company, New Haven, Mo.

  • 2011 | Douglas Fincannon, PFMM - President, Alamance Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Graham, N.C.

  • 2012 | Wilbur Maas, PFMM – President, Farmers Mutual Insurance Association, Hull, Iowa

  • 2013 | Tricia Mickley, PFMM – Secretary/Treasurer, Mount Carroll Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Mount Carroll, Ill.

  • 2014 | John Paul, PFMM – President/Treasurer, Western Iowa Mutual Insurance Association, Council Bluffs, Iowa

  • 2015 | James Bradley (Brad) Fortner, PFMM, FMDC – COO and Secretary, Farmers Protective Mutual Insurance Company, Rogers, Ark.

  • 2016 | Brian Taylor, PFMM - President and CEO, Municipal Mutual Insurance Company, Wellsburg, W.Va.

  • 2017 | Justin Lear, PFMM - CEO, Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Ellinwood, Kan.

  • 2018 | Paul Stueven, PFMM, FMDC – CEO and Treasurer, Fairmont Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Fairmont, Minn.


Lauren Holdcroft
Certification Manager