Sep 8 - 9, 2020 | Washington, D.C.


NAMIC has made the decision to move all in-person events for remainder of 2020 to a virtual setting, including the Annual Convention in Boston scheduled for September where we had planned to celebrate NAMIC’s 125th Anniversary. The health and well-being of NAMIC members and staff are the most important factors in considering our options and hosting large event gatherings in these times is just not feasible.

Those who have already registered for an event will receive a separate communication with the details of transferring to a virtual event. All members will soon receive information about exciting new ways to experience what they have come to expect from NAMIC events.

The agenda is subject to change without notice.

The 2020 agenda is still in development, but the general outline is as follows:

Tuesday, September 8
3:00 - 6:00 p.m.

NAMIC Federal Affairs Committee Meeting*

3:00 – 6:00 p.m.

NAMIC State Affairs Committee Meeting*

6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Dinner program for all registered attendees with guest speaker

*Open to members of the committee

Wednesday, September 9
8:00 – 3:00 p.m.

Sessions focusing on legislative and regulatory developments

Sessions from previous years have included:

  • Presentation by Representative Carolyn Maloney (D-NY-12), House Financial Services Committee, Chair – Subcommittee on Investor Protection, Entrepreneurship, and Capital Markets

  • Presentation by Representative Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO-5), House Financial Services Committee, Chair – Subcommittee on National Security, International Development, and Monetary Policy

  • Presentation by Steven Seitz, Director, FIO

  • Fireside chat with Mike Consedine, CEO, NAIC

  • Presentation by Laura Foggan, Partner and Chair of the Insurance/Reinsurance Group, Crowell & Moring LLP on ALI Restatement of the Law on Liability Insurance

  • Panel discussion on “Emerging Issues and Trends in Insurance Regulation”
    Jennifer Hammer, Former Director, Illinois Department of Insurance, Moderator
    James Dodrill, West Virginia Insurance Commissioner
    Andrew N. Nais, Connecticut Insurance Commissioner
    Dr. Michelle Osborne, North Carolina Chief Deputy Insurance Commissioner

  • Panel discussion on “Automated Vehicles – Regulatory & Policy Developments”
    Cathy Chase, President, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety
    Brad Nail, Senior Risk and Public Policy Manager, Uber Technologies
    Greg Scott, President, Merevir Consulting


Kristin Eichhorn
Assistant Vice President of Operations - Government Affairs



Corporate Sponsor:

Shelter Insurance