Create Account

Still Have Questions? Contact Us

Matt Brady

Matt Brady
Senior Director
Media and Federal Advocacy Communications

Telephone: 202.580.6742

Lisa Floreancig

Lisa Floreancig
Public Affairs Director
State Affairs

Telephone: 317.876.4246

NAMIC Names Maas as Professional Farm Mutual Manager of the Year; Inducts 2012 PFMM Class

GRAPEVINE, Texas (September 17, 2012) - The National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC) today presented its Professional Farm Mutual Manager of the Year Award and inducted the 2012 PFMM class during the organization's 117th Annual Convention.

NAMIC recognized Wilbur "Will" Maas, president, Farmers Mutual Insurance Association, Hull, Iowa, as the PFMM of the Year for his dedication to the farm mutual property/casualty industry. Maas was presented the award at the NAMIC Farm Mutual Conference Annual Meeting of Members.

The award, created in 2002, recognizes the achievements of a farm mutual manager who dedicates himself/herself to excellence in mutual insurance company management. The recipient is selected based on excellence in marketing, administration, and financial ability as well as his/her involvement in national and state associations in his/her local community.

"Growth and stability of a company doesn't happen on its own. Will has developed a strong team within the company, from office personnel to adjusting and inspection teams," said Charles M. Chamness, NAMIC's president/CEO. "Will is an active member of our industry both in Iowa and at the national level with his involvement with NAMIC. He continually challenges himself and his staff to be better in their work, and he recently led his company from being a county mutual to writing statewide."

Maas is a past president of the Mutual Insurance Association of Iowa and currently serves on its board of directors. He has also contributed his time and expertise to NAMIC in various capacities, including serving on NAMIC's Pension Committee and participating in NAMIC PAC.

At the same business meeting, 10 NAMIC member representatives were recognized as the newest class of Professional Farm Mutual Managers. With this induction, 285 active farm mutual managers have now completed the designation.

"Farm mutual managers face a wide array of challenges in their day-to-day work," said Chamness. "The dedication these individuals have shown over the past several years to earn this designation demonstrate the leadership and dedication they have to their company and its success."

The PFMM Class of 2012:

  • Brian Dettmer, German Mutual Insurance Company of Indiana, Decatur, Ind.
  • Christopher Fries, Boeuf & Berger Mutual Insurance Company, New Haven, Mo.
  • Paul Klasinski, McMillan Warner Mutual Insurance Company, Marshfield, Wis.
  • Donna Magness, Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of Clinton County, Plattsburg, Mo.
  • Steven Morris, Dupont Mutual Insurance Company, Marion, Wis.
  • Paul Rosenow, Fountain City Mutual Insurance Company, Fountain City, Wis.
  • Douglas Steele, Farmers Home Insurance Company of Knox County, Vincennes, Ind.
  • Brian Taylor, Municipal Mutual Insurance Company, Wellsburg, W.Va.
  • Cindy Tolias, CFM Insurance, Inc., Concordia, Mo.
  • David Wilson, Grayson Carroll Wythe Mutual Insurance Company, Galax, Va.

To become a PFMM, farm mutual leaders must submit a completed PFMM designation application; have a minimum of five years of property insurance experience at the time of completion; attend any NAMIC educational event within five years of successful completion of taking the first PFMM course module; and attend and complete the Strategic Business Management, Underwriting & Claims, and Financial Management course modules within five years of the initial application.

Contact: Brent Bahler
Vice President of Public Affairs

Lisa Floreancig
Public Affairs Director - State & Policy Affairs