Create Account

Still Have Questions? Contact Us

Matt Brady

Matt Brady
Public Affairs Director
Federal Affairs

Telephone: 202.580.6742

Lisa Floreancig

Lisa Floreancig
Public Affairs Director
State Affairs

Telephone: 317.876.4246

From the States: 2010 Midterm Election Results

The following is a list of winning candidates in Tuesday's midterm elections. This alert highlights the offices of governor, attorney general, and insurance commissioner. In the coming days, NAMIC will provide an in-depth look at the state races and their effect on the insurance industry.

Twenty new governors have been elected, with Republicans picking up 10 governor's mansions but losing three. Seven governor's races are too close to call. In the insurance commissioner races, Oklahoma's Kim Holland loses to Republican John Doak. In the attorneys general races, Republicans lead the AG offices by a 15 to 12 margin.


**Party Change

Governor: Robert Bentley, R
Attorney General: Luther Strange, R
Current Insurance Commissioner: Jim Ridling, appointed

Governor: Sean Parnell*, R
Attorney General: Daniel Sullivan, R, appointed
Current Insurance Director: Linda Hall, appointed

Governor: Jan Brewer*, R
Attorney General: TOO CLOSE TO CALL
Current Insurance Director: Christina Urias, appointed

Governor: Mike Beebe*, D
Attorney General: Dustin McDaniel*, D, unopposed
Current Insurance Commissioner: Jay Bradford, appointed

Governor: Jerry Brown**, D
Attorney General: TOO CLOSE TO CALL
Insurance Commissioner: Dave Jones**, D

Governor: John Hickenlooper, D
Attorney General: John Suthers*, R
Current Insurance Commissioner: Marcy Morrison, appointed

Governor: Dan Malloy**, D
Attorney General: George Jepsen, D
Current Insurance Commissioner: Thomas Sullivan, appointed

Governor: NO RACE: Jack Markell, D, elected 2008
Attorney General: Bo Biden*, D, unopposed
Insurance Commissioner: Karen Weldin Stewart, elected

Governor: Rick Scott, R 
Attorney General: Pam Bondi, R
Chief Financial Officer: Jeff Atwater**, R
Current Insurance Commissioner: Kevin McCarty, appointed

Governor: Nathan Deal, R
Attorney General: Sam Olens**, R
Insurance Commissioner: Ralph Hudgens, R

Governor: Neil Abercrombie**, D
Attorney General: Mark Bennett, R, appointed
Current Insurance Commissioner: Gordon Ito, appointed

Governor: C.L. "Butch" Otter*, R
Attorney General: Lawrence Wasden*, R, unopposed
Current Insurance Director: William Deal, appointed

Governor: Pat Quinn*, D 
Attorney General: Lisa Madigan*, D
Current Insurance Director: Michael McRaith, appointed

Governor: NO RACE Mitch Daniels, R, elected 2008
Attorney General: NO RACE Greg Zoeller, R, elected 2008
Acting Insurance Commissioner: Stephen Robertson, appointed

Governor: Terry Brandstad**, R
Attorney General: Tom Miller, D
Current Insurance Commissioner: Susan Voss, appointed

Governor: Sam Brownback**, R
Attorney General: Derek Schmidt**, R
Insurance Commissioner: Sandy Praeger*, R, unopposed

Governor: NO RACE Steven Beshear, D, elected 2007
Attorney General: NO RACE Jack Conway, D, elected 2007
Insurance Commissioner: Sharon Clark, appointed

Governor: NO RACE Bobby Jindal, R, elected 2007
Attorney General: NO RACE James Caldwell, D, elected 2008
Insurance Commissioner: James Donelon, elected

Governor: Paul LePage**, R 
Current Attorney General: Janet Mills, D, appointed
Current Insurance Superintendent: Mila Kofman, appointed

Governor: Martin O'Malley*, D
Attorney General: Doug Gansler*, D, unopposed
Acting Insurance Commissioner: Elizabeth Sammis, appointed

Governor: Deval Patrick*, D
Attorney General: Martha Coakley*, D
Current Insurance Commissioner: Joseph Murphy, appointed

Governor: Rick Snyder**, R
Attorney General: Bill Schuette, R
Current Insurance Commissioner: Ken Ross, appointed

Attorney General: Lori Swanson*, D
Current Insurance Commissioner: Glenn Wilson, appointed

Governor: NO RACE Haley Barbour, R, elected 2007
Attorney General: NO RACE Jim Hood, D, elected 2007
Insurance Commissioner: Mike Chaney, elected

Governor: NO RACE Jay Nixon, D, elected 2008
Attorney General: NO RACE Chris Koster, D, elected 2008
Insurance Director: John Huff, appointed

Governor: NO RACE Brian Schweitzer, D, elected 2008
Attorney General: NO RACE Steve Bullock, D, elected 2008
Insurance/Securities Commissioner: Monica Lindeen, elected

Governor: Dave Heineman*, R
Attorney General: Jon Bruning*, R, unopposed
Current Insurance Director: Bruce Ramge, appointed

Governor: Brian Sandoval, R
Attorney General: Catherine Masto*, D
Current Insurance Commissioner: Brett Barratt, appointed

New Hampshire
Governor: John Lynch*, D
Current Attorney General: Michael Delaney, D, appointed 2009
Current Insurance Commissioner: Roger Sevigny, appointed

New Jersey
Governor: NO RACE Chris Christie, R, elected 2009
Attorney General: NO RACE Paula Dow, D, appointed 2010
Insurance Commissioner: Thomas Considine, appointed

New Mexico
Governor: Susana Martinez**, R
Attorney General: Gary King*, D
Current Insurance Superintendent: John Franchini, appointed

New York
Governor: Andrew Cuomo, D
Attorney General: Eric Schneiderman, D
Current Insurance Superintendent: James Wrynn, appointed

North Carolina
Governor: NO RACE Beverly Perdue, D, elected 2008
Attorney General: NO RACE Roy Cooper, D, elected 2008
Insurance Commissioner: Wayne Goodwin, elected

North Dakota
Governor: NO RACE John Hoeven, R, elected 2008
Attorney General: Wayne Stenehjem*, R
Insurance Commissioner: Adam Hamm, elected

Governor: John Kasich**, R
Attorney General: Mike DeWine**, R
Current Insurance Director: Mary Jo Hudson, appointed

Governor: Mary Fallon**, R
Attorney General: Scott Pruitt**, R
Insurance Commissioner: John Doak**, R

Governor: John Kitzhaber, D 
Attorney General: NO RACE John Kroger, D, elected 2008
Current Insurance Administrator: Teresa Miller, appointed

Governor: Tom Corbett**, R
Attorney General: NO RACE Tom Corbett, R, elected 2008
Current Acting Insurance Commissioner: Robert Pratter, appointed

Rhode Island
Governor: Lincoln Chafee**, I
Attorney General: Peter Kilmartin, D
Current Insurance Superintendent: Joseph Torti III, appointed

South Carolina
Governor: Nikki Haley, R
Attorney General: Alan Wilson, R
Current Insurance Director: Scott Richardson, appointed

South Dakota
Governor: Dennis Daugaard, R
Attorney General: Marty Jackley*, R
Current Insurance Director: Merle Scheiber, appointed

Governor: Bill Haslam**, R
Current Attorney General: Robert Cooper Jr., D, appointed
Current Insurance Commissioner: Leslie Newman, appointed

Governor: Rick Perry*, R
Attorney General: Greg Abbott*, R
Current Insurance Commissioner: Mike Geeslin, appointed

Governor: Gary Herbert*, R
Attorney General: NO RACE Mark Shurtleff, R, elected 2008
Current Insurance Commissioner: Neal Gooch, appointed

Governor: Peter Shumlin**, D 
Attorney General: William Sorrell*, D
Current Insurance Commissioner: Michael Bertrand, appointed

Governor: NO RACE Robert McDonnell, R, elected 2009
Attorney General: NO RACE Ken Cuccinelli, R, elected 2009
Insurance Commissioner: Alfred Gross, appointed

Governor: NO RACE Christine Gregoire, D, elected 2008
Attorney General: NO RACE Rob McKenna, R, elected 2008
Insurance Commissioner: Mike Kreidler, elected

West Virginia
Governor: NO RACE Joe Manchin, D, elected 2008
Attorney General: NO RACE Darrell McGraw Jr., D, elected 2008
Insurance Commissioner: Jane Cline, appointed

Governor: Scott Walker**, R
Attorney General: J.B. Van Hollen*, R
Current Insurance Commissioner: Sean Dilweg, appointed

Governor: Matt Mead**, R
Attorney General: NO RACE Bruce Salzburg, D, elected 2007
Current Insurance Commissioner: Ken Vines, appointed