Print Print | Email Facebook Twitter Share ThisShareThis

'Together We Are NAMIC' Is 2007 NAMIC Chairman John Bykowski’s Theme

GRAPEVINE, Texas (Sept. 19, 2007) – John A. Bykowski was named chairman of the board of the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC) during the annual meeting of the association’s 112th annual convention. Bykowski, chairman, president and CEO of Secura Insurance Cos., Appleton, Wis., announced that “Together We Are NAMIC” will be his theme for the coming year.

In his address to the convention, Bykowski outlined his objectives for the year ahead, to “… build on our sense of collegiality and mutuality among members; grow the membership base; support NAMIC’s hard working and dedicated staff in Indianapolis and Washington, D.C.; keep focused on those issues affecting our industry.”

He emphasized the diversity of NAMIC’s membership, melding to create a strong, progressive force and the essence of mutuality.

“With your help and by standing together, we can meet, and even exceed, those goals,” he said.

“We will accomplish that using all the resources at our command. Some of us represent very small mutual farm insurers. Others come from some of the world’s largest insurance companies. Whether small, mid-sized or large, this diversity of membership represents one of our greatest strengths.”

Bruce D. Thomas, PFMM, president & CEO, Heartland Mutual Insurance Association, Fort Dodge, Iowa, is NAMIC’s chairman-elect. John T. Hill, II, CPA, president/COO of Magna Carta Companies, New York, N.Y., was elected vice chairman, with Wayne F. White, CPA, PFMM, president/chairman of Home Mutual Fire Insurance Co., Conway, Ark., as secretary/treasurer. Gerald P. Schmidt, CPCU, president/CEO, Mutual of Enumclaw Insurance Co., Enumclaw, Wash., is immediate past chairman.

New directors elected during the meeting are:

  • Brian K. Fisher, general manager, Glengarry Mutual Insurance Co., Alexandria, Ontario, Canada
  • Ronald H. Simon, FLMI, president, Auto-Owners Insurance Co., Lansing, Mich.
  • John K. Smith, CRM, CIC, CPCU, president & CEO, PLM Insurance Co., Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Jerry Zenke, PFMM, general manager/treasurer, Mound Prairie Mutual Insurance Co., Houston, Minn.

Directors continuing to serve are:

  • John J. Bishop, CPCU, CLU, chairman, president & CEO, Motorists Insurance Group, Columbus, Ohio
  • Glenn A. Lambert, PFMM, general manager, Cascade Farmers Mutual Insurance Co., Great Falls, Mont.
  • Judy S. Jackson, president & CEO, NLC Insurance Cos., Norwich, Conn.
  • James J. Kennedy, CPCU, LUTCF, president & CEO, Ohio Mutual Insurance Group, Bucyrus, Ohio
  • Sandra G. Parrillo, CPCU, president & CEO, The Providence Mutual Fire Insurance Co., Warwick, R.I.
  • Duane D. Smith, PFMM, secretary/manager, Farmers Mutual Insurance Co. of Johnson and Shelby Counties, Franklin, Ind.
  • Douglas M. Sullivan, CIC, PFMM, secretary/treasurer/manager, Svea Mutual Insurance Co., Orion, Ill.
  • Robert A. Wadsworth, CPCU, CIC, chairman & CEO, Preferred Mutual Insurance Co., New Berlin, N.Y.

For further information, contact
Nancy Grover
(202) 628-1558 Tel
(202) 628-1601 Fax

Posted: Wednesday, September 19, 2007 12:00:00 AM. Modified: Friday, September 21, 2007 10:21:03 AM.

317.875.5250 - Indianapolis  |  202.628.1558 - Washington, D.C.

NAMIC | Where the future of insurance has its voice TM